I had one job

Day 15 (Please click the title to leave a comment)

My mom is usually the one who picks up my son from practice because it is a race for me to get there in time from work. My mom is not available and my neighbor, who we car pool with, is out of town. I am tasked with actually leaving on time to get them.

So this is it! I am on it today, I will be there at 4:30, I will not get get caught speaking with a teacher or a parent about a student – like I do everyday. Today I will prioritze my own child!

I am paying attention to the clock very closely and packing up my bag so that I can run out the door as soon as my day is over. I decide to take a different way home that should be quicker, since my normal way has some construction. Out the door I go!

I am methodical, I am taking the quicker way home to avoid the traffic I usually hit. I’m feeling great! I check maps:

Arrival time: 4:30, Feeling good! I will be right on time!

uh oh, traffic is starting to slow down a little

Arrival time: 4:36, okay, I’m still okay, they don’t walk out right away, it will be fine.

ummmm I’m starting to see RED on the map

Arrival time: 4:44- Okay, panic is starting to set in. Who is home, who can I call???

not only is it showing red, I am dead stopped on the on ramp! WTF

Arrival time 4:57: OMG I am never going to make it! My mom is still at the doctor with my brother, the neighbor is on a business trip. This was my one responsibility!

I call my best friend of 35 years who lives blocks from the school. I acknowledge my failure as a parent to her. She giggles and said no problem, she jumped into action!

Thank you for taking on the one job I had to do.

6 thoughts on “I had one job

  1. I hate when I make decisions that I think will be beneficial only to see it was the worst decision to make at the time. UGH! Thankfully, you had someone that could jump in and help you out.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is the dumb pothole repairs!!! I was trapped yesterday and Jessie found another ride home! I am glad you had someone to call. It is a horrible feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My blood pressure was rising reading this, too. 😬 I love that you have an amazing friend to call on for help in times like these.

    When these “not my fault I’m late” moments happen to me on the days I actually left early I blame the universe. See, no one wants me to be an on time version of myself lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My heart was racing as I was reading this, I was fully invested if you were going to make it in time! You can always try again tomorrow, your Uber rating will probably suffer though!! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.